Showing posts with label Online Tech Support. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Online Tech Support. Show all posts

File formats of Office 2007

Office Open XML

Microsoft Office uses a new file format, called Office Open XML, as the default file format. Word documents (without macro extensions) are now saved using a .docx extension rather than the traditional .doc extension. Word 2007 can also save documents in the old format which is compatible with previous versions of Word. In addition, Microsoft has made available a free add-on known as the "Microsoft Office Compatibility Pack" that lets Office 2000-2003 editions open, edit, and save documents created under the new 2007 format.

Office Open XML is based on XML and uses the ZIP file container. According to Microsoft, documents created in this format are up to 75% smaller than the same documents saved with previous Microsoft Office file formats, owing to data compression.[18] Microsoft Office Excel and Microsoft Office PowerPoint also use the new OOXML file formats. Word files containing macros are saved with the extension .docm.

PDF

Microsoft had initially announced that it will support exporting to Portable Document Format (PDF) in Office 2007. However, due to legal objections from Adobe Systems, Office 2007 does not have PDF support out of the box, but offers it rather as a separate free download

XPS

Office 2007 documents can also be exported as XPS documents; via another free plug-in that is also a separate download.

Open Document

Microsoft backs an open-source effort to support Open Document in Office 2007, as well as earlier versions (up to Office 2000), through a converter add-in for Word, Excel and PowerPoint, and also a command-line utility.[21] As of 2008, the project supports conversion between ODF and Office Open XML file formats for all three applications.

User assistance system

In Microsoft Office 2007, the Office Assistants have been completely removed because of the much-improved help system. One feature of the new help system is the extensive use of Super Tooltips which explains in about one paragraph what each function performs. Some of them also use diagrams or pictures. These appear and disappear like normal tooltips, and replace normal tooltips in many areas. The Help content also directly integrates searching and viewing Office Online articles.

What is Microsoft Outlook Connecter?

The Outlook Connector enables two-way synchronization of e-mail messages, calendar items, contacts, tasks, and notes between Outlook and Windows Live Hotmail.

Note Calendar synchronization with Outlook is a paid, subscription-only feature. When you subscribe to Windows Live Hotmail, you get to synchronize notes and tasks as well as your calendar.

If you do not have a Windows Live Hotmail account, you can either sign up for a new account or update your existing MSN Hotmail account to be a Windows Live Hotmail account.

To update from MSN Hotmail to Windows Live Hotmail, click the Join Windows Live Hotmail link when you log on to your account. All of your messages, folders, and contacts will automatically appear in your new account. Your e-mail address will not change. I want to share my Experience with Microsoft Outlook Support and Computer help

How to Add holidays and events in Outlook

1. On the Tools menu, click Options, and then click Calendar Options.

2. Under Calender click add Holiday


  1. Select the check box next to each country/region whose holidays you want to add to your calendar, and then click OK.

Note Your own country/region is automatically selected.

If you already added a country's or region's holidays to your calendar, the check box for that country/region is selected in the Add Holidays to Calendar dialog box. If you try to add the same items again, you receive the following message:

Holidays for country/region are already installed. Do you want to install them again?

If you click Yes, the holidays and events are installed a second time, and you see duplicate holiday and event entries.

Note The holiday information that is provided with Outlook includes items during calendar years 2006 through 2012. If you are using a non-Gregorian calendar, items that occur during the same time period are included. I want to share my experience with Microsoft Outlook Support and Computer Help

How to Reduce Spam in Outlook

There are some guidelines given below which is help to reduce Spam. These are following….

  1. Take advantage of the Junk E-mail Filter in Microsoft Office Outlook 2007 Office Outlook 2007 helps to mitigate the problem of spam by providing the Junk E-mail Filter, which automatically evaluates incoming messages and sends those identified as spam to the Junk E-mail folder.
  2. Block pictures in HTML messages that spammers use as Web beacons Office Outlook 2007 has an additional anti-spam feature. By default, this feature blocks automatic picture downloads and other external content in messages if the content is linked to a server. If you open a message that has external content when this feature is turned off, the external content downloads automatically, inadvertently verifying to the server that your e-mail address is a valid one. Your e-mail address can then be sold to a spammer. You can unblock external content for messages that come from sources that you trust. For details, see Block or unblock automatic picture downloads in e-mail messages.
  3. Turn off read and delivery receipts and automatic processing of meeting requests Spammers sometimes resort to sending meeting requests and messages that include requests for read and delivery receipts. Responding to such meeting requests and read receipts might help spammers to verify your e-mail address. You can turn off this functionality. However, read and delivery receipts and automatic processing of meeting requests are useful features that you should not be afraid to use within a secure corporate network.

Note Delivery receipts can be turned off only by your e-mail server administrator.

Turn off read receipts

    1. On the Tools menu, click Options.
    2. Click E-mail Options.
    3. Click Tracking Options.
    4. Under Use this option to decide how to respond to requests for read receipts. Only applies to Internet Mail accounts, click Never send a response.

Turn off automatically acceptance of meeting requests

1. In Outlook, on the Tools menu, click Options, and then click Calendar Options.

2. Under Advanced options, click Resource Scheduling.

3. Clear the Automatically accept meeting requests and process cancellations check box.

4. Limit the places where you post your e-mail address Be cautious about posting your e-mail address on public Web sites, such as newsgroups, chat rooms, bulletin boards, and so forth. When visiting public sites, you might want to use an e-mail address that is different from your main e-mail address. Remove your e-mail address from your personal Web site. Whenever you list or link to your e-mail address, you increase your chances of being spammed.

5. Review the privacy policies of Web sites When you sign up for online banking, shopping, or newsletters, review the privacy policy of the site carefully before you reveal your e-mail address or other personal information. Look for a link or section (usually at the bottom of the Web site's home page) called "Privacy Statement," "Privacy Policy," "Terms and Conditions," or "Terms of Use." If the Web site does not explain how your personal information will be used, consider not using the services at that site.

6. Watch out for check boxes that are already selected When you shop online, companies sometimes add a check box that is already selected, which indicates that it is fine with you if the company sells or gives your e-mail address to other businesses (or "third parties"). Clear this check box so that your e-mail address is not shared.

7. Don't reply to spam Never reply to an e-mail message — not even to unsubscribe from a mailing list — unless you know and trust the sender, such as when the e-mail message comes from a service, an online store, or newsletter that you have signed up with. Answering spam just confirms to the spammer that your e-mail address is an active one.

8. If a company uses e-mail messages to ask for personal information, don't respond by sending a message Most legitimate companies will not ask for personal information to be sent in e-mail. Be suspicious if they do. Such a request could be a spoofed e-mail message disguised to look like a legitimate one. This tactic is known as phishing. If the possible spam appears to be sent by a company that you do business with — for example, your credit card company — then call the company to verify that they sent it, but don't use any phone number that is provided in the e-mail. Instead, use a number that you find by using other means, such as directory assistance, a statement, or a bill. If the request is a legitimate one, the company's customer service representative should be able to assist you. The Junk E-mail Filter also includes phishing protection to help identify and disable suspicious messages.

9. Don't contribute to a charity in response to a request sent in e-mail Unfortunately, some spammers prey on your goodwill. If you receive an e-mail appeal from a charity, treat it as spam. If the charity is one that you want to support, locate their telephone number or Web site to find out how you can make a contribution.

10. Don't forward chain e-mail messages Besides increasing overall e-mail volume, by forwarding a chain e-mail message you might be furthering a hoax — and meanwhile, you lose control over who sees your e-mail address.

I hope It is useful to Getting information about Spam and I want to share my experience with Microsoft Outlook Support and Computer Help.

Repairing a Personal Folders file (.pst)

You may need to use the Inbox Repair Tool if you open your Outlook .pst file and receive this message:

Unable to expand the folder. The set of folders could not be opened. Errors could have been detected in the file drive:\Documents and Settings\user\Local Settings\Application Data\Microsoft\Outlook\Outlook.pst. Quit all mail-enabled applications, and then use the Inbox Repair Tool.

Note The path to the file specified in the message may vary depending upon the operating system you are using on your computer.

To repair the .pst file

  1. On the Start menu, click Run.
  2. In the Open box, type

drive:\Program Files\Common Files\System\Mapi\LocaleID\scanpst.exe

where LocaleID is the locale identifier (LCID) for your installation of Microsoft Office. For example, the LCID for English (United States) is 1033. For a list of LCIDs, see Microsoft Office Help.

  1. Click OK.
  2. In the Enter the name of the file you want to scan box, type the path and file name given in the error message above.

Note You may not be able to use the Browse button to locate this file because it is located in a hidden folder.

  1. To change the options for logging errors during the scan, click Options. If you choose Replace log or Append to log, the log file is saved to the same directory as the .pst file.
  2. Click Start.
  3. When the file scan is completed, select the Make a backup of scanned file before repairing check box.
  4. Click Repair.

If the file is successfully repaired, you will see a Repair complete message. If the Inbox Repair Tool was unable to repair the file, you will need to use a backup of your file.

To begin using your backup file as your new primary file

  1. Start Outlook.
  2. On the File menu, click Data File Management.
  3. Select the .pst that is damaged, and then click Remove.
  4. Click Add, select Personal Folders File (.pst), click OK, and then select the .pst file you want to use as the new primary file.
  5. Click OK.

You should not rely solely on the Inbox Repair Tool for disaster recovery. A system of regular backups of your .pst file is an important part of preventing data loss. You can back up the file in several ways, including copying it to another location, backing up all of the files on your computer (help), or by using the Personal Folders Backup utility, available on the Microsoft Office Online site.

Troubleshoot opening files

The file you are trying to open may be damaged. Your Microsoft Office program may let you try to recover the text from the damaged file, or if recovery doesn't work, you can delete the damaged file and open a backup copy.

  1. If the Microsoft Office program you are using is not responding, recover the program.
    1. On the Microsoft Windows Start menu, point to Programs, point to Microsoft Office Tools, and then click Microsoft Office Application Recovery.
    2. In the Application list, click the program or document that is not responding.
    3. Do one of the following:
      • To attempt to recover the files you were working on, click Recover Application or Restart Application.
      • If you just want to close the program, and lose recent changes to the files, click End Application.
    4. The error that caused the problem can be reported to Microsoft for use in improving future versions of the program. Click Send Error Report or Don't Send.

Note If you are not connected to the internet you can click Send Error Report Later to be prompted to send the report the next time you connect.

  1. Open the Office program.
  2. Review the files listed in the Document Recovery task pane (task pane: A window within an Office application that provides commonly used commands. Its location and small size allow you to use these commands while still working on your files.), and decide which to keep.

o If a file has [Recovered] in the title it is usually a file that contains more recent changes than a file with [Original] in the title.

    • If you want to view what repairs were made to a file, point to the file in the Document Recovery task pane, click the arrow next to the file's name, and then click Show Repairs.
    • If you want to review the versions that were recovered, open all of the versions and save the best one.
  1. For each file you want to keep, point to the file in the Document Recovery task pane, click the arrow next to the file's name, and then do one of the following:
    • To work with the file, click Open.
    • To save the file, click Save As, and then enter a name for the file. By default, the file is saved in the same folder as the original file. If you use the same name as the original file, the original is overwritten. When you see a message asking whether you want to replace the existing file (with the changes you made up to the last time you saved the file), click Yes.
  2. When you have opened or saved all of the files you want to keep, click Close in the Document Recovery task pane.

The file name may be too long

The file name or the path name may exceed 223 characters. Do one of the following:

· Shorten the file name.

· Move the file to another folder that is closer to the top of the folder hierarchy.

Try to open the file again.

The disk the file is on may be too full

Try moving files to another disk to make more space available.

The Open dialog box doesn't list the file I'm looking for.

Check the file type

Make sure you have the correct file type selected in the Files of type box.

Conduct a search

In the Open dialog box, click Tools, and then click Search. Select the options you want, and then click Search.

Check the network connection

If you're looking for a file on the network and the network drive doesn't appear in the Open dialog box under Look in, do the following:

1. Click Tools, and then click Map Network Drive.

2. In the Drive box, click the drive letter you want to use to connect to the network.

3. In the Folder box, enter the path where the file is located on the network— for example, type \\server\share.

You can also look for files on a network drive if your network supports the UNC (universal naming convention (UNC): A naming convention for files that provides a machine-independent means of locating the file. Rather than specifying a drive letter and path, a UNC name uses the syntax \\server\share\path\filename.). Just type the UNC path in the File name box in the Open dialog box— for example, type \\plans\documents.

Look in My Network Places

If you're looking for files on a Web server (Web server: A computer that hosts Web pages and responds to requests from browsers. Also known as an HTTP server, a Web server stores files whose URLs begin with http://.):

· In the Open dialog box, click My Network Places on the My Places bar (Places bar: The bar on the left side of certain dialog boxes (such as Open, Save As, or Insert Picture) that contains shortcuts to the My Recent Documents, Desktop, My Documents, My Computer, and My Network Places folders.) to display folders on the Web server. Double-click the folders until you open the folder that contains the document you want.

You can also type the folder path in the File name box in the Open dialog box— for example, type http://myserver/public.

I can't open a password protected file.

Passwords (password: A sequence of characters needed to access computer systems, files, and Internet services. Strong passwords combine uppercase and lowercase letters, numbers, and symbols.) are case-sensitive. Check to see whether the CAPS LOCK key is on, or retype the password to make sure that you didn't mistype it.

My file opened in a separate window.

When you create or open a file in a Microsoft Office program, the file opens in a separate window. You can quickly switch from one file to another by clicking the file's button on the taskbar or by pressing ALT+TAB.

The shortcut to my file doesn't work anymore.

The file may have been renamed or deleted

The shortcut will not work if there has been any change to the target file's name or extension. Use the Microsoft Office Search feature to look for files that have similar names or that were created or modified on the same date as the file you are trying to open.

Conduct a search

In the Open dialog box, click Tools, and then click Search. Select the options you want, and then click Search.

The file may be temporarily unavailable

  • If the file is located on a network server, consult your network administrator to find out if the server drive is unavailable.
  • If the file is located on removable media such as a floppy disk, make sure the media with the target file is properly inserted in the drive or device.

I want to share here with you is my experience of sharing the Microsoft Outlook , Password Security , Technical Support and providing computer support assistance.

How to Add Gmail Account with Outlook

To use your Gmail e-mail account in Microsoft Outlook, you must first make sure POP3 support is enabled in Gmail, and then you can add it to Outlook.

Steps Follow

  1. Log in to your Gmail account.
  2. At the top of any Gmail page, click Settings.
  3. In the Mail Settings window, click Forwarding and POP.

Gmail is turning on POP3 support for users in phases. If Forwarding and POP does not appear, your Gmail account cannot be configured for POP3 support.

  1. In the POP Download section, select Enable POP or all mail or Enable POP only for mail that arrives from now on.
  2. Click Save Settings.
  3. In Outlook, on the Tools menu, click E-mail Accounts.
  4. Click Add a new e-mail account, and then click Next.
  5. Click POP3, and then click Next.
  6. Under User Information, do the following:
    1. In the Your Name box, type your full name the way you want it to appear to other people.
    2. In the E-mail Address box, type your e-mail user name followed by @gmail.com.
  7. Under Server Information, do the following:
    1. In the Incoming mail server (POP3) box, type pop.gmail.com.
    2. In the Outgoing mail server (SMTP) box, type smtp.Gmail.com.
  8. Under Logon Information, do the following:
    1. In the User Name box, type your full e-mail address, including @gmail.com.
    2. In the Password box, type your password.
    3. Select the Remember password check box.

Note You have the option to have Outlook remember your password by typing it in the Password box and selecting the Remember password check box. Having Outlook remember your password means that you won't have to type your password each time you access the account; however, it also means that the account is vulnerable to anyone who has access to your computer. Use strong passwords that combine upper- and lowercase letters, numbers, and symbols. Weak passwords don't mix these elements. Strong password: Y6dh!et5. Weak password: House27. Use a strong password that you can remember so that you don't have to write it down.

  1. Click More Settings.
  2. On the General tab, under Mail Account, type Gmail.
  3. Click the Outgoing Server tab, and then select the My outgoing server (SMTP) requires authentication check box.
  4. Select Use same settings as my incoming mail server.
  5. Click the Advanced tab, and then under Server Port Numbers for both Incoming server (POP3) and Outgoing server (SMTP), select the This server requires an encrypted connection (SSL) check boxes.
  6. Change the Outgoing server (SMTP) port number to 465.

The Incoming server (POP3) port number should change automatically to 995 when you select the this server requires an encrypted connection (SSL) check box.

  1. Click OK.
  2. To verify that your account is working, click Test Account Settings. If there is missing or incorrect information, such as your password, you will be prompted to supply or correct it. Make sure your computer is connected to the Internet.
  3. Click Next, and then click Finish.

Notes

  • Do not select the Log on using Secure Password Authentication (SPA) check box.
  • Unless specified by Gmail, all server and address entries are typed in lowercase letters.

I have to sketch out the details once again before this Monday for a official presentation. But then what i want to share here with you is my experience of sharing the Microsoft Outlook and providing a computer support assistance.

Automatically reply to messages

You can set up Microsoft Office Outlook 2007 to send an automatic response to some or all of the people who send you e-mail messages.

If you use a Microsoft Exchange Server 2007 account, you should use the Out of Office Assistant. See automatically reply to messages with the Out of Office Assistant.

Without an Exchange Server account, you can combine an Outlook e-mail template with Outlook rules to reproduce the functionality of the Out of Office Assistant available only to Exchange Server account users. By using this combination, you can use your e-mail account to send automated replies to incoming messages.

Important You must leave your computer turned on and Outlook running for the automated replies to be sent.

Create a message template

Do the following:

  1. On the File menu, point to New, and then click Mail Message.
  2. On the Options tab, in the Format group, click Plain Text.
  3. In the message body, type the message that you want to send as your automated reply.
  4. In the message window, click the Microsoft Office Button and then click save as.
  5. In the Save As dialog box, in the Save as type list, click Outlook Template (*.oft).
  6. In the File name box, type a name for your message template, and then click Save.

Create a rule to automatically reply to new e-mail messages

Do one of the following:

  1. On the Tools menu, click Rules and Alerts.
  2. In the Rules and Alerts dialog box, click New Rule.
  3. Under Start from a blank rule, click Check messages when they arrive, and then click Next.
  4. Under Which condition(s) do you want to check?, select the sent only to me check box and any other criteria that you want, and then click Next.
  5. When you see a dialog box informing you that this rule will be applied to every message that you receive, click Yes.
  6. Under What do you want to do with the message?, select the reply using a specific template check box.
  7. Under Step 2: Edit the rule description (click an underlined value), click a specific template.
  8. In the Select a Reply Template dialog box, in the Look In box, click User Templates in File System.
  9. Select the template that you created in the previous section, and then click Open.
  10. Click Next.
  11. Optionally, select the check boxes for any exceptions to the auto-reply rule.
  12. Click Next.
  13. Under Step 1: Specify a name for this rule, type a name for the auto-reply rule, and then click Finish.

Tip Consider creating an Outlook task or to-do reminder to help you remember to turn off this rule when you want to stop sending automatic replies.

The reply using a specific template rule in the Rules Wizard sends your automated reply only once to each sender during a single session. This rule prevents Outlook from sending repetitive replies to a single sender from whom you receive multiple messages. During a session, Outlook keeps track of the list of users to whom it has responded. If you exit Outlook and then restart it, however, the list of the senders who have received automated replies is reset.

Important For the Rules Wizard to send a reply automatically, Outlook must be running and configured to check periodically for new messages.

Turn off automatic replies

To turn off the rule you created in step 2 above, do the following:

  1. On the Tools menu, click Rules and Alerts.
  2. On the E-mail Rules tab, under Name, clear the check box for the rule you want to turn off.

And some how i have to sketch out the details once again before this Monday for a official presentation. But then what i want to share here with you is my experience of sharing the Microsoft Outlook and providing computer support assistance.

Powered by Blogger